top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReed Review

Join the Black Student Union Club!

Join the Black Student Union Club! Here is an interview with the President and Vice President of this amazing club: Kairo Ballard and El-Bethel Debela!


BSU meetings are every other Tuesday, run by Mrs. Graham and Ms. Swann.


Interview Questions:


Q: "Could you tell us a general definition of the club?"


“The BSU is a club where all students can come and learn more about black history, as well as a safe place for fellow black students to meet one another and voice their opinions.”

- Kairo Ballard

“The Black Student Union is a club that provides a place for all African- Americans students to embrace their heritage and celebrate their accomplishments and acknowledge all of the diversity in African- Americans. We just talk about culture, lifestyle, and history. It’s just a place where we can all talk.”

- El-Bethel


Q: “What is it like being a president/vice president of the club?”


“I think being the president of the Black Student Union gives me a way to talk to more black students, as well as learn myself about things I didn't know about black history, and to get more involved with the different organizations or activism that's going on in the world.”

- Kairo Ballard

“I feel like being the vice-president of the club gives me more opportunities to speak and talk with other African American students that I didn't get to do on my own time. I feel like being the vice-president gives me a chance to make change and fight for equality among everyone.”

- El-Bethel


Q: “What is your favorite part about the club?”


“I think my favorite part of the club would definitely be about learning black culture and the different figures that have made a difference throughout the whole entire world, as well as making solutions, because I know there are so many different problems. What I really like to do is figure out what we can do about these problems. So, I think finding out how to get involved in making solutions is my favorite part about the club.”

- Kairo Ballard

“I feel like my favorite part of the club is being able to talk about things that have happened to us, like what we have experienced in and out of school and we have to address the issues that happened to African Americans. For me, I feel like learning about black history is important because I am African American, and I feel like I should know about my heritage as much as I know about every other heritage.”

- El-Bethel


Q: “How has the club helped you? How do you think it can help others?”


“I think that it's a safe place for others, and I think it's really good for other people to provide a safe place, for not just African American students, but all students to learn more about black culture, because everyone can learn more about it. I think being able to express your opinions freely is something that is really important to me. Not being afraid to ask questions, and not being judged on the questions you ask. So, I think it'll help people understand more about their culture, understand more about somebody else's culture, and to create more of a community.”

- Kairo Ballard

“I feel like, for me, the club has helped me to voice my own opinions and express myself about racism and everything that happens to me and around everyone. I feel like it would help others just by being educated. I know when people say things and they ask us if that is offensive or not offensive. I feel like they can learn what is offensive and what is not, and they can learn how to celebrate black culture without appropriating it. We can learn how to appreciate everyone else's culture.”

- El-Bethel


Q: “What impact do you think this club has on you and your club members?”


“I think it will effect the club members and help them with- I guess the thing is when you don’t know something people can’t get mad at you for not knowing it and I think that being apart of the Black Student Union helps people get educated on different things that they did not even know they were doing or the things they didn’t even know that happened. I think it will make the club members become more aware and more awake to not just see the bad things but all of the areas in their specific life that they could- they saw that they were doing something that they could improve on.

- Kairo Ballard

“I think it would impact the club members, as like, I know I have been discriminated multiple times from teachers, classmates, students. I feel like it teaches students how to take care of those situations. Like if I get discriminated against by a teacher, student or anyone, I know I am not going to break my cool. I know I am not going to argue, I’m just going to keep on going with my life and not listen to any of those and I feel like the Black Student Union helps, teaches African- Americans about what to do in these situations and we educate people on black history so whenever you need to know about black history you know it.”

- El-Bethel

Q: “Has the club impacted or changed the way you see the world? If so, how?"


“I think it's changed the way on how I view other people's situations, because, for me, I didn't really, at first, know the reason why there was even a Black Student Union. I got that it was a place for people to talk, or learn about black history, but I didn't understand as much that it's a place where people are able to express themselves, and to talk to one another. I didn't know how important that was until I joined the club, and I think that's something that really changed my view on what I thought the Black Student Union was going to be and what I think it should be.”

- Kairo Ballard

“I feel like it has impacted me in many ways. Like, when we came together for a club, we watched a video about how African Americans are judged in their everyday lives. We saw an African American go into the courtroom, and my mind just went, "Oh, he is the person who commited the law, broke the law." But, in that case, he was actually the judge, and I feel like everyone inside of them has bias, and we don't know the bias. I discriminate sometimes against African Americans. I don't even know I'm discriminating! I just look at them and I'm like, "Oh, I think they're dangerous," and now, I learned that I should stop discriminating, I should stop my bias, and just look at everyone as good people.”

- El-Bethel



-Ariana Sarraf ‘23

-Kaylee Kim ‘23



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Coloring Up the Ocean

Nadya couldn’t wait. She was going all the way to Australia with her parents and her best friend, Charity, to see the Great Barrier Reef! They would do all kinds of amazing things when they got there.

bottom of page